July 21, 2022
Dr. Jane Goodall in TwoWings Award Ceremony

The TwoWings Award Ceremony took place on November 14, 2005, in the Natural History Museum of Vienna entrance hall. The Board of Trustees of the TwoWings presented the TwoWings award to personalities who had been involved unremittingly in development cooperation. One of the aims of presenting the award was to draw public attention to the commitment and projects of the award winners. Only by this could it be demonstrated what individuals can bring about. Sponsors covered most of the expenses for the event. To acknowledge the merits of humanitarianism and philanthropy, the award winners received an artistic bronze figure designed by the sculptor Martin Müller.

Among the 200 people present at the ceremony were very prominent guests. The museum director Prof.Dr.Bernd Lötsch and the British ambassador in Austria, John McGregor, welcomed the guests. Then, Hubert von Goisern, the prominent Austrian dialect singer, greeted and thanked Jane Goodall from the gallery with chimpanzee tones. The ceremonial address with the presentation of the TwoWings Award (gold-plated award statue) was presented by the President of TwoWings Network, Dr. Gerhard Schweter.

Jane Goodall in TwoWings award ceremony

Dr. Jane Goodall in TwoWings award ceremony with some of the prominent guests

In the photo, you can see from left to right: Museum director Prof.Dr.Bernd Lötsch - British ambassador John McGregor - Dr. Sarvenaz Ettehadieh – Dr. Jane Goodall- President of TwoWings Network Dr. Gerhard Schweter - Austrian dialect singer Hubert von Goisern.

TwoWings and Jane Goodall Institute's cooperation

Dr. Jane Goodall, the founder of Jane Goodall Institute, received TwoWings Award in 2005. Her thoughts were shaped by the motivation for environmental protection and conservation. She follows specific qualities and principles for the betterment of the world and through her innovations has succeeded in helping to create a more peaceful world.

In 2005, TwoWings supported one of Jane Goodall Institute's programs developed in 1994 named the “Lake Tanganyika Catchment Reforestation and Education Project,” (TACARE.) They developed a project for the region around the 52 km² Gombe National Park in western Tanzania. This rainforest of the National Park was the habitat of chimpanzees and other wildlife threatened by deforestation for firewood and timber. The consequences were long-term adverse effects on human life and the environment.

Jane Goodall in TACARE

Jane Goodall visiting TACARE (one of the programs that TwoWings supported)

The successful project supports the inhabitants of the surrounding villages and improves people’s living standards in a sustainable way in relation to their environment. Today, more than 170,000 people in 25 villages are supported or trained by Jane Goodall Institute staff in Tanzania under the TACARE program. They work on planting trees and shrubs, promoting children’s rights, and workshops on HIV/AIDS prevention and control. Among 45 primary schools and children’s centers in 20 villages, children play an active role in developing and implementing projects for animals, the environment, and their communities.

A Remarkable Ambassadors for our Planet

Dr. Jane Goodall, one of the world's leading ethologists, is best known for the 60-year study of social and family interactions of wild chimpanzees. She is also a UN Messenger of Peace and an honorary member of the World Future Council. Dr. Goodall dedicated her life to educating humans and protecting the animals' natural habitat. She has won several environmental and humanitarian awards for years of hard work and relentless services.

"There is still a lot left worth fighting for."

img

21. Juli 2022
Dr. Jane Goodall bei TwoWings-Preisverleihung

Die TwoWings Award Ceremony fand am 14. November 2005 in der Eingangshalle des Naturhistorischen Museums Wien statt. Das TwoWings-Kuratorium verlieh den TwoWings-Award an Persönlichkeiten, die sich unermüdlich für die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit engagieren. Eines der Ziele der Preisverleihung war es, die Öffentlichkeit auf das Engagement und die Projekte der Preisträger aufmerksam zu machen. Nur so konnte gezeigt werden, was Einzelne bewirken können. Sponsoren übernahmen einen Großteil der Kosten für die Veranstaltung. Als Anerkennung für die Verdienste um Humanität und Philanthropie erhielten die Preisträger eine künstlerisch gestaltete Bronzefigur des Bildhauers Martin Müller.

Unter den 200 Anwesenden waren auch sehr prominente Gäste. Der Museumsdirektor Prof. Dr. Bernd Lötsch und der britische Botschafter in Österreich, John McGregor, begrüßten die Gäste. Anschließend begrüßte und bedankte sich Hubert von Goisern, der prominente österreichische Mundartsänger, von der Galerie aus mit Schimpansentönen bei Jane Goodall. Die Festrede mit der Verleihung des TwoWings Award (vergoldete Award-Statue) wurde vom Präsidenten des TwoWings Network, Dr. Gerhard Schweter, gehalten.

Jane Goodall bei TwoWings-Preisverleihung

Dr. Jane Goodall bei der TwoWings-Preisverleihung mit einigen der prominenten Gäste

Auf dem Foto sind von links nach rechts zu sehen: Museumsdirektor Prof. Dr. Bernd Lötsch - Britischer Botschafter John McGregor - Dr. Sarvenaz Ettehadieh - Dr. Jane Goodall- Präsident von TwoWings Network Dr. Gerhard Schweter - Österreichischer Mundartsänger Hubert von Goisern.

Die Zusammenarbeit von TwoWings und dem Jane Goodall Institut

Dr. Jane Goodall, die Gründerin des Jane Goodall Instituts, erhielt 2005 den TwoWings Award. Ihr Denken ist geprägt von der Motivation zum Schutz und Erhalt der Umwelt. Sie verfolgt bestimmte Qualitäten und Prinzipien zur Verbesserung der Welt und hat durch ihre Innovationen erfolgreich dazu beigetragen, eine friedlichere Welt zu schaffen.

2005 unterstützte TwoWings eines der 1994 entwickelten Programme des Jane Goodall Instituts, das "Lake Tanganyika Catchment Reforestation and Education Project" (TACARE), ein Projekt für die Region um den 52 km² großen Gombe National Park im Westen Tansanias. Dieser Regenwald des Nationalparks war der Lebensraum von Schimpansen und anderen Wildtieren, die durch die Abholzung zur Gewinnung von Brenn- und Nutzholz bedroht waren. Die Folgen waren langfristige negative Auswirkungen auf das Leben der Menschen und auf die Umwelt.

Jane Goodall bei TACARE

Jane Goodall zu Besuch bei TACARE (eines der Programme, die TwoWings unterstützt hat)

Das erfolgreiche Projekt unterstützt die Bewohner der umliegenden Dörfer und verbessert den Lebensstandard der Menschen auf nachhaltige Weise im Verhältnis zu ihrer Umwelt. Heute werden in Tansania im Rahmen des TACARE-Programms mehr als 170.000 Menschen in 25 Dörfern von Mitarbeitern des Jane Goodall Instituts unterstützt oder geschult. Sie arbeiten an der Anpflanzung von Bäumen und Sträuchern, der Förderung der Rechte von Kindern und Workshops zur HIV/AIDS-Prävention und -Kontrolle. In 45 Grundschulen und Kinderzentren in 20 Dörfern spielen die Kinder eine aktive Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Projekten für Tiere, die Umwelt und ihre Gemeinden.

Eine bemerkenswerte Botschafterin für unseren Planeten

Dr. Jane Goodall, eine der weltweit führenden Ethologen, ist vor allem für ihre 60-jährige Studie über die sozialen und familiären Interaktionen von wild lebenden Schimpansen bekannt. Sie ist außerdem UN-Friedensbotschafterin und Ehrenmitglied des World Future Council. Dr. Goodall widmete ihr Leben der Aufklärung der Menschen und dem Schutz des natürlichen Lebensraums der Tiere. Für ihre jahrelange harte Arbeit und ihren unermüdlichen Einsatz wurde sie mit mehreren Umwelt- und humanitären Preisen ausgezeichnet.

"Es gibt noch vieles, wofür es sich zu kämpfen lohnt."

img