August 22, 2022
TwoWings Supports the “Planting Hope” Program in Los Palmitos

Many thoughtful and forward-looking efforts are trying to stop climate change and save the earth.

Trees are receiving more attention for their role in cooling the climate, absorbing and storing massive amounts of carbon, and creating more employment opportunities and a green economy (more eminently in countries with socio-economic disparities and vulnerable populations).

At the end of January 2020, Colombian President Iván Duque announced at the World Economic Forum held in Davos, Switzerland, that the country's goal is to plant 180 million trees by the end of 2022 (between 2018 and 2022). This massive tree planting program is to restore more than 300,000 hectares of degraded land.

Part of the Los Palmitos' land

One of the agricultural lands of Los Palmitos allocated to the “Planting Hope” program

The trees are purchased from national and private Colombian companies and transported to the planting site. To reach the planting goals, many requirements should be met closely and carefully, including:

  • To see whether the species are native with good genetic quality (Preferred) or invasive or exotic.
  • Considering whether the municipal Unit and local communities are assisted with adequate training and have been taught about technical agricultural issues, including soil, compost, care, and how to find appropriate micro-environmental conditions, etc. (1).

Colombia is the second most biodiverse country in the world and is blessed with many species, fertile soil, and ground for different types of native flora. But unfortunately, deforestation and losing an enormous number of trees caused the people who made their living through agroforestry to confront considerable challenges in their livelihood and nutrition.

Considering the current situation, planting trees and agroforestry training programs are a vital help for communities in this region. FUNDAEC is a Colombian NGO that has served Colombian communities for years to overcome these challenges and sustainably improve their socio-economic and environmental conditions.

With the "Planting Hope" program, FUNDAEC provides communities with saplings, seedlings, and training opportunities in agroforestry. It also brings occupation, communication, solidarity, affordance, environmental beautification & health to families.

TwoWings is an NPO and one of the contributors to FUNDAEC's "Planting Hope" program in Cali, Colombia. TwoWings, with 26 years of experience in development programs, is also supporting the local communities of Los Palmitos through the tree planting program and is trying to take part in this critical mission responsibly.

Tree planting program's meeting

One of the Tree planting program's meetings in Los Palmitos

The "Planting Hope" program aims to plant 10,000 trees annually, provide local people with seedlings and saplings, arrange theoretical-practical training workshops, and support the participation of communities in land restoration.

Past and Present Conditions in Los Palmitos

Los Palmitos is a town and municipality located in the Sucre Department, northern Colombia. This spot has been hit by violence like murders, attacks, disappearances, and kidnapping, resulting in crippled local economies and destroyed communities (2).

Hundreds of families have been displaced from the Los Palmitos community and left their lands, although more families refused to leave their homes and preferred to resist the hardship (3).

Families in Los Palmitos

Some families in Los Palmitos refused to leave their homes

Most displaced peasants had to leave their agricultural land to stay either un- or underemployed, work as day laborers, informal commerce workers, or domestic servants. However, the work was temporary and sporadic in most cases (4).

Unfortunately, violence persisted even years after signing the 2016 peace agreement in Colombia. However, Protestant and Catholic churches organized relocation programs or asked the state to support displaced families in an organized return to their lands (5).

Peasant organizations have monthly meetings in Los Palmitos and construct plans in workshops to identify and prioritize weaknesses and strengths. Nevertheless, there are limitations to what the local peasant organization can achieve, and not everyone is interested in sociopolitical initiatives and community organization (According to research published in 2018).

Admirably, a community leader in Los Palmitos spoke of the women's movement in her municipality, women taking more leadership in the Peasant Reserve Zones, and gender equity among local men and women.

Although there are land sub-divisions and a lack of land in Los Palmitos, interviews show that many people consider the Peasant Reserve Zones in Los Palmitos a suitable land access strategy (6).

Los Palmitos Is Taking Part in “Planting Hope” Program

Presently Los Palmitos have decided to participate in the tree planting program, and a portion of the land is to be turned into a small forest. The "Planting Hope" program is to support this decision, so the land turns into a small forest as planned. The following pictures depict the area and a group of native youth.

The youth of Los Monos village

Youth are gathered in a village called Los Monos

These youths are gathered in the afternoon in a village called Los Monos. Los Monos translates to monkeys and also blond people. The story behind the peculiar name in an area with solid indigenous roots, dates back to when a family from Antioquia settled there and opened a hardware store. Their kids who helped out at the store happened to be fair-haired, so whenever anyone from the village sent their kids to buy anything from the store, they would ask them to go to Los Monos.

img

22. August 2022
TwoWings unterstützt das "Planting Hope" Programm in Los Palmitos

Viele durchdachte und vorausschauende Bemühungen versuchen, den Klimawandel zu stoppen und die Erde zu retten.

Bäume erhalten mehr Aufmerksamkeit für ihre Rolle bei der Abkühlung des Klimas, der Absorption und Speicherung großer Mengen an Kohlenstoff und der Schaffung von mehr Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und einer grünen Wirtschaft (vor allem in Ländern mit sozioökonomischen Ungleichheiten und gefährdeten Bevölkerungsgruppen).

Ende Januar 2020 kündigte der kolumbianische Präsident Iván Duque auf dem Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos (Schweiz) an, dass das Land bis Ende 2022 (zwischen 2018 und 2022) 180 Millionen Bäume pflanzen will. Mit diesem massiven Baumpflanzungsprogramm sollen mehr als 300.000 Hektar geschwächter Flächen wiederhergestellt werden.

Teil des Landes von Los Palmitos

Eine der landwirtschaftlichen Flächen von Los Palmitos, die für das Programm "Planting Hope" vorgesehen sind

Die Bäume werden von nationalen und privaten kolumbianischen Unternehmen gekauft und zum Pflanzort transportiert. Um die Pflanzungsziele zu erreichen, müssen viele Anforderungen genau und sorgfältig erfüllt werden, darunter:

  • Prüfung, ob es sich um einheimische Arten mit guter genetischer Qualität (bevorzugt) oder um invasive oder exotische Arten handelt.
  • Prüfung, ob die kommunale Einheit und die lokalen Gemeinschaften durch eine angemessene Ausbildung unterstützt werden und über agrartechnische Fragen wie Boden, Kompost, Pflege, geeignete Mikroumweltbedingungen usw. unterrichtet wurden (1).

Kolumbien ist das Land mit der zweitgrößten biologischen Vielfalt der Welt und ist mit vielen Arten, fruchtbaren Böden und Boden für verschiedene Arten von einheimischer Flora gesegnet. Doch leider haben die Abholzung der Wälder und der Verlust einer enormen Anzahl von Bäumen dazu geführt, dass die Menschen, die ihren Lebensunterhalt mit der Agroforstwirtschaft bestreiten, mit erheblichen Problemen in Bezug auf ihren Lebensunterhalt und ihre Ernährung konfrontiert sind.

In Anbetracht der aktuellen Situation sind Baumpflanzungen und agroforstwirtschaftliche Schulungsprogramme eine wichtige Hilfe für die Gemeinden in dieser Region. FUNDAEC ist eine kolumbianische Nichtregierungsorganisation, die den kolumbianischen Gemeinden seit Jahren hilft, diese Herausforderungen zu bewältigen und ihre sozioökonomischen und ökologischen Bedingungen nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Mit dem Programm "Planting Hope" versorgt FUNDAEC die Gemeinden mit Setzlingen, Jungpflanzen und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in der Agroforstwirtschaft. Es bringt den Familien auch Beschäftigung, Kommunikation, Solidarität, Erschwinglichkeit, Umweltverschönerung und Gesundheit.

TwoWings ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation und einer der Mitwirkenden an FUNDAECs Programm "Planting Hope" in Cali, Kolumbien. TwoWings, mit 26 Jahren Erfahrung in Entwicklungsprogrammen, unterstützt auch die lokalen Gemeinden von Los Palmitos durch das Baumpflanzungsprogramm und versucht, sich verantwortungsvoll an dieser wichtigen Mission zu beteiligen.

Treffen des Baumpflanzungsprogramms

Eines der Treffen des Baumpflanzungsprogramms in Los Palmitos

Das Programm "Planting Hope" zielt darauf ab, jährlich 10.000 Bäume zu pflanzen, die örtliche Bevölkerung mit Setzlingen und Schösslingen zu versorgen, theoretisch-praktische Ausbildungsworkshops zu veranstalten und die Beteiligung der Gemeinden an der Wiedernutzbarmachung des Landes zu unterstützen.

Frühere und heutige Bedingungen in Los Palmitos

Los Palmitos ist eine Stadt und Gemeinde im Departement Sucre im Norden Kolumbiens. Dieser Ort war von Gewalt wie Morden, Angriffen, Verschwindenlassen und Entführungen betroffen, was zu einer verkrüppelten lokalen Wirtschaft und zerstörten Gemeinden führte (2).

Hunderte von Familien wurden aus der Gemeinde Los Palmitos vertrieben und verließen ihr Land, obwohl sich mehr Familien weigerten, ihre Häuser zu verlassen und es vorzogen, der Not zu trotzen (3).

Familien in Los Palmitos

Einige Familien aus Los Palmitos weigerten sich, ihre Häuser zu verlassen

Die meisten vertriebenen Bauern mussten ihre landwirtschaftlichen Flächen verlassen und blieben entweder ohne oder mit Unterbeschäftigung, arbeiteten als Tagelöhner, informelle Handelsarbeiter oder Hausangestellte. Die Arbeit war jedoch in den meisten Fällen befristet und sporadisch (4).

Leider hielt die Gewalt auch Jahre nach der Unterzeichnung des Friedensabkommens von 2016 in Kolumbien an. Protestantische und katholische Kirchen organisierten jedoch Umsiedlungsprogramme oder baten den Staat, vertriebene Familien bei einer organisierten Rückkehr zu ihren Grundstücken zu unterstützen (5).

Die bäuerlichen Organisationen treffen sich monatlich in Los Palmitos und erstellen in Workshops Pläne, um Schwächen und Stärken zu identifizieren und zu priorisieren. Dennoch gibt es Grenzen für das, was die lokale Bauernorganisation erreichen kann, und nicht jeder ist an sozialpolitischen Initiativen und Gemeindeorganisation interessiert (laut einer 2018 veröffentlichten Untersuchung).

Bewundernswert ist, dass eine Gemeindeleiterin in Los Palmitos von der Frauenbewegung in ihrer Gemeinde, von der stärkeren Führungsrolle der Frauen in den Bauernreservaten und von der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter unter den lokalen Männern und Frauen sprach.

Obwohl es in Los Palmitos Landunterteilungen und Landmangel gibt, zeigen die Interviews, dass viele Menschen die Bauernreservate in Los Palmitos als geeignete Landzugangsstrategie betrachten (6).

Los Palmitos nimmt am Programm "Hoffnung pflanzen" teil

Los Palmitos hat beschlossen, an dem Baumpflanzungsprogramm teilzunehmen, und ein Teil des Landes soll in einen kleinen Wald verwandelt werden. Das "Planting Hope"-Programm soll diese Entscheidung unterstützen, damit das Land wie geplant zu einem kleinen Wald wird. Die folgenden Bilder zeigen das Gebiet und eine Gruppe von einheimischen Jugendlichen.

Die Jugendlichen des Dorfes Los Monos

Die Jugendlichen versammeln sich in dem Dorf Los Monos.

Diese Jugendlichen sind am Nachmittag in einem Dorf namens Los Monos versammelt. Los Monos bedeutet übersetzt "Affen" und auch "blonde Menschen". Die Geschichte hinter dem seltsamen Namen in einem Gebiet mit soliden indigenen Wurzeln geht darauf zurück, dass sich eine Familie aus Antioquia dort niederließ und einen Eisenwarenladen eröffnete. Ihre Kinder, die im Laden aushalfen, waren zufällig blond, und wann immer jemand aus dem Dorf seine Kinder zum Einkaufen in den Laden schickte, baten sie sie, zu Los Monos zu gehen.

img